Back-to-School? Classrooms by Walmart?: Feel Guilty About Shopping at Walmart

Cloaking Inequity

Honestly, I felt guilty on the rare occasion that I shopped at Walmart. Yes I have shopped at Walmart. I didn’t want to, but sometimes at midnight I had no other choice when I needed emergency water for my Discus aquarium and spaghetti sauce. Walmart politics are of course objectionable to me, but they litter the Texas landscape— they are inescapable. One of the surprises about my move to California is that I haven’t even seen a Walmart in Sacramento yet. Of course they exist, but in Texas you can’t spit without hitting a Walmart.

Screen Shot 2014-08-24 at 9.16.06 AM

Walmart’s issues have been well documented. For example, the PBS documentary Store Wars included the following:

Wal-Mart employs more people than any other company in the United States outside of the Federal government, yet the majority of its employees with children live below the poverty line. “Buy American” banners are prominently placed throughout its stores; however…

View original post 1,750 more words

Leave a Reply

